He's Got My Heart


Track List:

1 He’s Got My Heart (My Whole Heart…) 2:39
2 Split My Time 3:05
3 Just Leave Me Be 2:52
4 Banned From Baton Rouge 3:02
5 Self Defense 3:44
6 Thank The Lord It Wasn’t You 2:50
7 You Won’t Give Me The Time 2:26
8 Optimism 2:48
9 Right As Rain 3:14
10 The Lows 3:21
11 Huckleberry Finn 2:35
12 Tear After Tear 4:19
13 Heartaches 4:28
14 You Don’t Have to Shave Your Legs For Me 3:26 written by Keb’Mo’
15 Traveling Soldier 5:19 Dixie Chicks

This collection of songs, aside from the previously-recorded ones, was written primarily for other people to sing. I was imagining four or five-piece bluegrass bands of men singing in harmonies and trading solos with mandolins and banjos and so forth. It was inspired by the group of musicians I jammed with in Chapel Hill, N.C., known as the RDU Sessions Players. They exposed me to new songs and the high lonesome culture of bluegrass music. When I heard the songs in my head, they were not sung by me, but this recording attempts to present the song in its rawest form, intended for the performance by male bluegrass artists.

*The cover shot for this album was taken in Gulf Breeze, Florida after a day of deep sea fishing with some members of the local chapter of the Coastal Conservation Association of Florida.  The only fish caught that day was a “baby” cobia, my biggest catch ever! The way it worked was, an expert fisherman named Sarge would spot the fish and cast out to them. When they finally got one on the line (it was a very slow day) I happened to be down on the deck and they handed me the pole!! A nice young man had to help me keep my balance because that fish was such a fighter. When we got back to the dock we took this picture – it seemed like I was holding it forever! (you know when you catch a fish and have a picture taken you have to hold it way out from your body to make it look bigger) That was a great day. I wrote the title track on the bow of that boat, soaking up the sun. The chorus was inspired by former Gator basketball player Lee Humphrey! (the rest of the song was about some jerkface I don’t talk to anymore, haha)